(5 and 6 George V, c. 45)

19th May, 1915

   Be it enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the
advice and consent of  the Lords spiritual  and Temporal, and Commons,
in  this present Parliament assembled, and  by  the  authority of  the
same, as follows:

   1. -- (1) Notwithstanding  anything in the British   North American
Act, 1867, or in any Act amending the same, or in any Order in Council
or terms or conditions of union made or approved under said Acts or in
any Act of the Canadian Parliament --
   (i) The number of senators provided for under section twenty-one of
the British North America Act, 1867, is increased from  seventy-two to
   (ii) The Divisions of Canada in relation to the constitution of the
Senate   provided for  by section twenty-two    of the    said Act are
increased  from three  to four,  the fourth Division  to  comprise the
Western Provinces  of Manitoba,  British  Columbia,  Saskatchewan, and
Alberta, which four Divisions shall (subject to the provisions  of the
said Act and  of this Act) be  equally  represented in the  Senate  as
follows: Ontario  by   twenty-four  senators;  Quebec   by twenty-four
senators;   the Maritime  Provinces  and  Prince Edward    Island   by
twenty-four senators,    ten thereof representing   Nova Scotia,   ten
thereof representing  New Brunswick,  and  four  thereof  representing
Prince Edward Island; the  Western provinces by  twenty-four senators,
six thereof representing  Manitoba, six thereof  representing  British
Columbia, six   thereof representing  Saskatchewan,  and   six thereof
representing Alberta:
   (iii) The number of persons whom by section twenty-six of  the said
Act the  Governor-General of Canada, may, upon   the direction  of His
Majesty the King, add to the Senate is increased from  three to six to
four or eight, representing equally the four Divisions of Canada:
   (iv)  In  case of   such  addition being  at   any  time  made  the
Governor-General of Canada shall not  summon any person  to the Senate
except upon a further  like direction  by His Majesty  the King on the
like recommendation to represent one of the four  Divisions until such
Division is represented by twenty-four senators and no more:
   (v) The number of senators shall not at any time exceed one hundred
and four:
   (vi)  The  representation in the   Senate to which  by  section one
hundred  and forty-seven  of   the  British North  America  Act, 1867,
Newfoundland would be entitled, in case of its admission to the Union,
is increased from four to six members, and in case of the admission of
Newfoundland  until the Union,  notwithstanding anything  said  in the
said Act or in this Act,  the  normal number of senators shall  be one
hundred and two, and their maximum number one hundred and ten:
   (vii)  Nothing herein contained   shall affect   the powers of  the
Canadian Parliament under the British North America Act, 1886.

   (2)  Paragraphs (1)  to  (vi) inclusive  of  subjection (1) of this
section shall   not take  effect before the  termination   of  the now
existing Canadian parliament.

   2.  The  British  North America  Act,   1867, is amended  by adding
thereto the following  section immediately after section  fifty-one of
the said Act:
   51A. Notwithstanding anything in this Act, a  province shall always
be entitled to a  number of  members in  the House of Commons not less
than the number of senators representing such province.

   3.  This Act may be  cited as the British  North America Act, 1915;
and the British North America Acts, 1867 to  1886, and this Act may be
cited together as the British North America Acts, 1867 to 1915.

Last HTML revision: September 8, 1994.